Stains

As you saw the other day we like to pick blackberries, well all berries. They are healthy, juicy and sweet.

This year we enjoyed picking blueberries, strawberries and blackberries in our yard and raspberries and boysenberries from Grandpa John’s and Grandma Linda’s garden.

The biggest down fall for berries are the stains created by them. Arora normally gets a messy face and hands but her clothes are typically spared.

Ender on the other hand, loves berries and has been feasting on them all summer. Many pieces of of clothes are stained from it.Here are Ender’s pants from yesterdays blackberry feast. I rubbed them down with oxy clean max power. And tossed them in the wash with our normal laundry soap.Here is how they turned out after just after the washing machine:

20110921-064911.jpg

20110921-064931.jpg

As you can see not very clean. I rubbed them down again and washed them. Not much different then just one wash. hmmm. What do you use for laundry stains?

6 thoughts on “Stains

  1. I have found that the Resolve/shout works wonders. We went berry picking many times and have used them everytime, even just a couple of days ago at the grandparents and the clothes look wonderful. If you want I can give you a little cup of it to try so you don’t waste your money. Just let me know and I will give it to Ellie next Wed, so you don’t have to come all the way out here.

  2. I typically use Zout. Leave on the stains for 5 minutes, then wash as usual. I also like to use OxiClean powder. I put a scoop of that into a large bowl with the stained clothes and warm water. I’ll just let them soak. Sometimes as long as 12 hours…you shouldn’t have to wait that long, I just forget about them until it is time to do laundry. Then I wash the clothes like normal. I haven’t had any issues with either of these. In case that wadn’t enough, we have this book called Haley’s Cleaning Hints that says you can mix 1/4 cup baking soda, 1 tbsp borax, and 1/2 cup cool water. Apply to stain and leave for 20 mins. Then rinse with cool water. For tougher stains leave on for 1 hour. There’s a few more ideas if you are interested specifically related to fruit stains. Have fun!

  3. I use OxiClean and it always gets out berry stains. But I have used the powder kind and the original spray kind. I recently bought the OxiClean max force because it’s supposed to work well on grease (and I think it does) but it does not work well on other stains that normal OxiClean takes care of.

  4. Hi,
    I ended up here crawling the web looking at sites for purex coupons just wondering how the sites tick. I also found home recipes for laundry detergents, which seems to be the vogue these days.. to go green and to sustain. I wonder if they are effective for stains.
    You have some luscious berries there. Very cute kids. ( I have four grandkids). There are really so many simple but wonderful blogs online if only we have the time to read and look.
    Cheers

Leave a Reply

