Mr Cookie Baker

Last week we went to the public library twice. I forgot how much fun it is to find new books. One of the ones we checked out is called Mr Cookie Baker. The words are simple enough for Arora to read the the pictures are well done. My favorite part of the book is that it includes four of Mr Cookie Baker’s recipes.

So far we have tried two of them, Sugar and Oatmeal. The sugar cookies were good Arora and her cousins had a good time frosting and decorating them.

The oatmeal cookies were the best oatmeal cookies I had ever made. Here is the recipe:

1/2 cup butter

1 C brown sugar

1 egg

1 TBS milk

2 tsp cinnamon

1/2 tsp nutmeg

1/2 tsp salt

1/2 tsp baking soda

1 cup flour (we used whole wheat)

1 cup oats

1/2 cup raisins ( we used 1 cup chocolate covered raisins. yum!)

heat oven to 350

cream butter and sugar. Mix in egg and milk. then mix in spices and flour. Add oatmeal and then raisins. Drop on cookie sheet and bake 8-10 minutes.

I found these to be super soft, almost crumbly soft, which is the way I like my cookies. The chocolate covered raisins were a great addition because the chocolate melted into the cookie dough.

4 thoughts on “Mr Cookie Baker

  1. I want to try this recipe. Alas, it’s fast Sunday. Also I’m not sure where my mixer is…packed somewhere in the basement…will have to try the recipe another day?

  2. thanks Holly. I think Jason and I will be making these cookies. He needs to bake something for one of his Bear requirements. Your cookie receipe looks a lot better than then the one in the Bear book.

  3. We made Mr. Cookie Baker’s peanut butter cookies last night! They are the best peanut butter cookies I’ve ever had. We haven’t tried these ones yet, though. Next time!

Leave a Reply

