Reading is fun

I have been meaning to announce on here for a while that Arora is reading. Really. Not just retelling books she has memorized.  She had been on the verge of reading for a while but I didn’t know how much she was just repeating what David and I had read to her. Then in the first week of October we checked out a book called Biscuit Makes a Friend by Alyssa Capucilli from our local library. I read it to her half a dozen times. Then one day I was nursing Ender and I heard her reading the book in the other room. She said almost every word right. I was fairly sure she could not have memorized it after only hearing it a few times. But maybe she had. Then a week or so later we checked out this bookGo Away Big Green Monster by Ed Emberley, I read it to her once, I tell you once, and then she read it back to me. She was so proud of herself. We painted her pumpkin this year with a big green monster to remember this special event. What really brought it home to me that my not-yet-three-year-old was reading was when my sister came over just after Halloween and Arora read her a book she had never seen before. At that moment I was beaming, so proud of her.  Amazed with her desire to learn and her ability to comprehend.

Since then we have had it a priority to go to the library every week. We love the librarians who do Story Time.  We check out lots of books and spend time reading everyday, multiple times a day. Most of the time I read aloud. Some times we read it together, she reads one page and I read the next. Or she will pick a few words to read throughout the book (“I know, Arora will read all the woof, quacks and Biscuits!”) Some times she reads to me, or by herself.

When she reads aloud she misses some words or replaces a word for what she thinks it will say, such as tree for three. But I do that too.  She continues to surprise me. When we were baking bread today she said “Next we need the nonfat dry milk mommy.” She read the recipe card.

So I will keep reading and keep reading, with my little Matilda.* How have you encouraged a love of reading in your children? Do you remember when you started reading?

8 thoughts on “Reading is fun

  1. What really convinced me that she wasn’t just memorizing stuff was a few months ago when I got down a radio box from a shelf, and she started reading the marketing message on the side of the box. I know for a fact, I had never read that to her, and she did really well, except for replacing a few words (like “father” instead of “further.”)

    I tend to not want to tell people about it, because I doubt they’ll believe me, or think I’m just bragging, but I sure am proud of her!

  2. Way to go! That is amazing. I agree that most people wouldn’t believe it, but that’s because most people don’t spend that much time reading and playing with their kids. Keep up the great work, you are an inspiration to many!

  3. Wow! Way to go Arora! We have really loved the BOB books for beginning readers. I just posted about it on my blog a day or two ago. They’d be good ones to look for at the library to see if she likes them. The Biscuit books are also good ones to start with. It sounds like she might even be better than Seth so far. Awesome!

  4. That is great! I guess one way we have encouraged Jason and the other boys to read is by taking to the library. Ever since the boys were little I have taken them. We still encourage our boys to read even if we don’t go just by having books around. (if you look in their room they are all over the place). I think it has helped a lot! In our last parent teacher conference Jason’s teacher told us that he is the highest reader in all of his third grade class. Not to brag ,but this was not a shock since Kindergarten he has been at the top. I think making reading fun is the key. I usually let my kids check out what they want to read and not what I think they should read (except Gavin). The other boys are learning as well.

    • i just wanted to add that i don’t expect all my boys to be readers. I think it is important to realize that they are all different and have different talents.

  5. Even though I’m totally amazed, I’m not really surprised. Arora is so dang smart. And I remember that she was sounding out letter combos way early. I have no hopes of Michael reading that early, but today I wrote his name, Mama, and Daddy, and he could “read” them, but I think he really just has them memorized. But he LOVES to be read to, multiple times a day, so he has a love for it. I am sure when he’s ready that he’ll pick it up, but I wish I knew of some ways that might make it easier for him. I may need to check out Montessori Read and Write again. The Montessori model believes children are ready to learn to read between the ages of 3 and 6, so even by their standard, Arora is really early! I would be so proud, too!

  6. What a Super Reader! What wonderful parenting to encourage her strengths and planting that seed for reading! I bet you all are just busting at the seams! The biggest problem is now you can’t have secret spelling talks to keep Arora in the dark. It’s actually very impressive that she reads intuitively by turning “further” into “father.” She’s using a more advanced reading technique of looking at the first and last letters of the words. Smart girl!

    I started reading at about the same age, my parents say 2, and of course I don’t remember it, but I do remember feeling bored in kindegarten and first grade. My mom swears by phonics and reading together for teaching young children to read. It worked great for me and her first-grade classes. But then it also depends on the child. My sister didn’t learn to read until she was 7, but she is a numbers person. We both turned out to be smart, educated, and successful in school and career but our minds work SO differently.

    I’ve been playing on Starfall.com a lot lately with Lu. She is addicted and scream “A-E-O-O-O” (O is her favorite letter apparently) at me to play. She is repeating all the letter sounds and most of the words and can recognize letters in the world around her now. She knows that “L” starts her name. She is equally addicted to numbers and her personality reminds me a lot of my sister, so it will be interesting to see who her brain is most like

    Wow, this was a long comment, but reading and child development are two of my favorite things! And I’m loving that good old-fashioned reading and phonics are what are beating the pants off of silly sight-reading stunts like “Your Baby Can Read.”

  7. That is so awesome!! You are so good to do story time every week. We were on a roll for about a year… then baby #3 came along! Now that he’s almost 6 months old I have to get back into the groove of library time 🙂

Leave a Reply

