So are you breastfeeding?

Total strangers have come up to me already and asked me if I was breastfeeding our son. I am, and it is going great. After Ender was born my first priority was to establish breastfeeding. Ender howled for the first hour or so after birth, then after he cleared his lungs sufficiently, he latched right on to nurse.  I had great nurses who helped me remember how to hold and help a newborn latch on. The first few days were uncomfortable as we learned what to do.  One thing I  realized was my back was killing me because I was bringing my breast to Ender and not bringing him to me. Things got much better after I fixed that!

We went to our local La Leche League meeting.  It was nice to meet with other breastfeeding moms. They had great ideas for nursing lying down, which I never could do with Arora. I am still learning how to keep me comfortable while nursing lying down. Too many pillows behind my back and  I am too hot, not enough support and my back gets sore.  I would love your great ideas. Also I am excited to learn how to nurse Ender in my Moby Wrap  or my Mei Tai. (Learn how to make your own Mei Tai later this week!) I think he needs to gain a bit more head and neck control first. It is easy for me to forget he is only 3 weeks old.

My mother in law, Kathy, was very kind to go bra shopping with my a few weeks before Ender was born. We went to the Providence Breastfeeding Center here in Portland. These are to two nursing bras I picked out. They are way better then this one.This one is by Bravado, super soft and supportive. It is easy to unhook and re-hook with one hand.This is a sleeping bra by La Leche League.  It is great for night time and wearing around the house. So far I am very happy with my new nursing bras. In a month or two I will probably want to get something that is even more supportive, for working out pushing two kids in the stroller at the zoo.

6 thoughts on “So are you breastfeeding?

  1. I am SO glad that nursing is going easier for you with Ender than it did with Arora. Even so, I know that the time and energy that nursing requires from you are a real sacrifice, and I want you to know how grateful I am as your husband.

    You are making a very real and positive contribution to our children’s lives. It is a huge blessing to them to be able to get all the nutritional and other health benefits that come from breast milk (not to mention the financial benefits for us!) I will keep trying to do my best to help and support you with your breastfeeding needs. I know I can’t do it for you, but I’ll do what I can.

    YOU’RE DOING A GREAT JOB!! Keep at it. You and Ender are both getting better at it everyday, and I’m glad you are writing about it in your blog to encourage other mommies to do what might seem a little scary at first.

  2. I’m so glad breastfeeding is going well for you. I always feel so much relief when I hear that from someone.

    Nursing lying down is a life-saver. It took me a while to figure out, but one day I was just so exhausted that I figured it would be worth it to lie down for 10 minutes to nurse him, and he ended up falling asleep and I got to nap, too. I kept doing it after that!

    We had so many problems in the beginning that nursing in the wrap only happened a couple of times, but when he was bigger I nursed him in the mei tai sometimes. That could be really helpful when you need to feed him and attend to Arora at the same time. Or cook dinner or something.

    I desperately need a new nursing bra or two. Do they have many options there? Is it like a store? I’ve never been there, I have no idea.

    • They have a little store there. I think I tried on 4 or 5 different brands and styles. They have a very nice lady who actually knows how to measure for your size and was helpful. They have a sale rack, and other nursing needs, like pumping stuff etc. I would absolutely send a nursing mother there, but they have a no return policy so be sure you love it before you buy it.

  3. I think great everything is working out for you and your little man. I think the more we do something the better we get. Even though Jason and Gavin were my easiest to breastfeed and wean. Go figure. I think they should make the breastfeeding garments better.

Leave a Reply

