making and using finger paint

Last summer I found this great recipe for homemade finger paint. I have since tweaked it a little bit. This time I tried using dish washer soap instead of dish soap. Our dish soap is bright green and so the colors never came out right with it.

Finger painting last summer

Here is the recipe,

Mix 2 TBS sugar with 1/3 Cup corn starch in a small sauce pot. Slowly whisk in 2 cups cold water. Then heat over low-medium heat for about 10 minutes. The mixture should thicken and look glossy and clear. Let cool. Then add 1/4 cup dish soap.  We use ice cube trays to hold the individual colors. Add a drop of food coloring to each ice cube tray and then add the finger paint mixture.  Mix well. Paint!  Washes very easily. We have even used this as sidewalk paint. The rain, or a hose will wash it away.

Store the unused portion in a sealed container in the fridge. Also works well with brushes if your little one don’t like the feeling of finger paint.

4 thoughts on “making and using finger paint

  1. Thanks so much for your painting recipe. I am a stain freak especially due to the fact that our carpet is really light. I think we will try this out doors. thanks

  2. I get pretty nervous whenever I hear the words “finger” and “paint,” but this recipe isn’t so bad. WAY better than the stuff I used when I was a kid.

  3. This looks like so much fun! I would love to link to this post if you didn’t mind. Polly just emailed me about it and I’m so glad she did. Your blog is so much fun and I love the title!

Leave a Reply

