Help Momma make cookies!

I have fond memories of helping my mother make cookies. I have four siblings, of course all of us wanted to help. We would all crowd around the Kitchen Aid Mixer and wait to lick the bowl.

Looking in the bowl

Now I take time every few days to cook with my daughter. There is so much to learn about in the kitchen.Β  Safety, following directions, scooping, pouring, stirring, the list goes on. Last evening I asked Arora (in ASL) if she wanted to help me make dessert. After a moment she exclaimed “Help Momma make cookies!”

We made a tried and true peanut butter cookie recipe.

Heat oven to 325 degrees.

1 1/2 cup flour
1/2 tsp baking soda
1/2 cup butter
1/2 cup white sugar
1/2 cup brown sugar
1 egg
1 cup peanut butter
pinch of salt

Cream butters and sugars together, then add dry ingredients. Mix well. Dough will be soft. Plop onto cookie sheet and press with a fork. Bake for 13-15 minutes. These store well for up to 5 days if in an airtight container.having a taste

When cooking together we will pull a chair next to the counter and pull the Kitchen Aid Mixer close so she can see. Then we will go to the pantry and get out all the ingredients.Β  Arora makes sure she gets to pour each ingredient into the mixing bowl. Then she gets a turn to stir. This is always a highlight of cooking. But the best part in her mind is the end when she gets to have a little lick of whatever we made. She will sit of the chair and have her taste, while I put our goodies in the oven.finished peanut butter cookies

7 thoughts on “Help Momma make cookies!

  1. Mmmmm…yum! I endorse having the kids help out and learn to cook. It slows things down, but it is so important for children to learn about how things work. These cookies look delicious, although I won’t be making them at my house due to hubby’s peanut allergy.

  2. They look yummy! Arora is getting so big. My kids love to help cook too…usually I let them, but I’m probably not as patient as you. πŸ™‚

    • Yes, you sound so patient! When I’m cooking or baking, Lexi begs for an apron so I tie one on her, she goes and gets her step stool and she watches and helps poor but after a while I get tired of her sticking her fingers in everything and tell her she’s done. I guess I need to be more patient and realize that a few toddler germs in what we’re making won’t hurt anyone! πŸ™‚

  3. Who doesn’t have found memories of making cookies with mama? Michael loves to cook, and I enjoy teaching him. Those cookies look so yummy!

  4. I just made cookies today with my 3yo and 1yo. Oatmeal Butterscotch Cookies. Yum! They turned out delicious. In fact, I may go eat another one right now… πŸ˜‰

Leave a Reply

